St Maarten /St Martin is a tiny island paradise with an intriguing mix of cultures due to its dual Dutch/French Heritage. The island country is 87 km2 island is divided in half between France and the Netherlands it is the smallest inhabited sea island divided between two nations.

In 800AD Settled by Arawak Indians who arrived from South America, given the name Soualiga, or Land of Salt, it is named after the island's abundant salt ponds. This tiny island has 37 beaches.

In 1493 Columbus named the island Isla de San Martin, upon his arrival. The first European settlers were French and Dutch who, in 1648, partitioned the island. The island has remained under dual sovereignty ever since, the Dutch sector achieving partial independence from the Netherlands in 1954 with the establishment of the Dutch Antilles.

Home | Feature | Cuba | Jamaica | St. Maarten | Costa Rica | Curacao |
Copyright 2018 | Last Updated: August 14, 2018